USA Cycling names 21 to U.S. team for 2012 UCI Pan American Road & Track Championships

announced today the 21 athletes that will represented the United States at the 2012 UCI Pan American Road and Track Championships, March 5-16 in Mar Del Plata, Argentina.


The track portion of the Continental Championships is slated for March 5-9, and valuable qualification points will be on the line for the U.S. Men’s Team Sprint squad as it continues striving toward a start spot for the London Games. The U.S. team sprint squad in Argentina will consist of discretionary nominees Jimmy Watkins (Bakersfield, Calif./Project ), Kevin Mansker (Long Beach, Calif./Project ), and Michael Blatchford (Cypress, Calif./Project ). Each of these three will also compete individually in the sprint and the keirin.

Also receiving discretionary nominations to represent the U.S. on the track in Argentina are Matthew Lipscomb (Decatur, Ga./Fulton Flyers), Gregory Daniel (Englewood, Colo./Slipstream-Craddock ), Ian Moir (Long Beach, Calif./Yahoo Cycling Team), Zack Noonan (Kutztown, Pa.FCS-Metro Volkwagon), Adam Leibovitz (Indianapolis, Ind.), and Bobby Lea (Topton, Pa./Pure Energy Cycling-ProAirHFA. Lipscomb, Daniel, Moir, Noonan, and Leibovitz are slated for the men’s team pursuit while Leibovitz and Daniel will also compete in the individual pursuit. Lipscomb will contest the points race while Moir competes in the scratch race. Then, Moir and Bobby Lea will team up in the Madison and Lea will go on to race the omnium.

On the ’s side of track racing, Elizabeth Carlson (Jim Thorpe, Pa./Black Dog Pro Cycling Team) andDana Feiss (Telford, Pa./Kutztown University of ) will team up for the ’s team sprint. Feiss will also race the sprint and the keirin while Carlson races the clock in the ’s 500-meter time trial. Rounding out the U.S. track contingent in Argentina will be ’s endurance riders Beth Newell (Oakland, Calif./Now Cycling – NOW and Novartis for MS), Cari Higgins (, Colo./Exergy TWENTY 12), andJennifer Valente (San Diego, Calif./Exergy TWENTY 12). Newell plans to race the omnium while Higgins competes in the points race and Valente in the scratch race.


Following the velodrome racing in Argentina will be the road portion of competition which is scheduled for March 11-16. A seasoned group of American will be on hand in Argentina to compete for continental championship titles. As the #8 ranked rider in the UCI rankings,  (Irvine, Calif./) will lead the U.S. ’s squad as the only automatic selection to the team. She’ll compete in both the time trial and the road race, and in the road race will be joined by discretionary picks Coryn Rivera(Tustin, Calif./Exergy TWENTY 12), Shelley Olds (Gilroy, Calif./AA Drink), and Beth Newell (Oakland, Calif./Now Cycling – NOW and Novartis for MS).

A young group of discretionary nominees will compete for the red, white and blue in the men’s road race. The riders set to toe the line include Lawson Craddock (Houston, Texas/Trek-Livestrong), Nate Brown(Covington, Tenn./Trek-Livestrong), Ty Magner (Athens, Ga./TT1), Rob Bush (Louisville, Ky./Chipotle Development Team), and Matthew Lipscomb (Decatur, Ga./Hincapie Development Team). Additionally, Craddock and Brown will race the clock in the men’s time trial.

For more information on the event, click here.

Stay tuned to for coverage of how the U.S. riders fare.

Pan American Road and Track Championships
March 5-16, 2012
Mar del Plata, Argentina
U.S. roster:

Men’s Track
Jimmy Watkins (Bakersfield, Calif./Project )
Kevin Mansker (Long Beach, Calif./Project )
Michael Blatchford (Cypress, Calif./Project )
Matthew Lipscomb (Decatur, Ga./Fulton Flyers)
Gregory Daniel (Englewood, Colo./Slipstream-Craddock )
Ian Moir (Long Beach, Calif./Yahoo Cycling Team)
Zack Noonan (Kutztown, Pa.FCS-Metro Volkwagon)
Adam Leibovitz (Indianapolis, Ind.)
Bobby Lea (Topton, Pa./Pure Energy Cycling-ProAirHFA)

’s Track
Elizabeth Carlson (Jim Thorpe, Pa./Black Dog Pro Cycling Team)
Dana Feiss (Telford, Pa./Kutztown University of )
Beth Newell (Oakland, Calif./Now Cycling – NOW and Novartis for MS)
Cari Higgins (, Colo./Exergy TWENTY 12)
Jennifer Valente (San Diego, Calif./Exergy TWENTY 12)

Men’s Road 
Lawson Craddock (Houston, Texas/Trek-Livestrong)
Nate Brown (Covington, Tenn./Trek-Livestrong)
Ty Magner (Athens, Ga./TT1)
Rob Bush (Louisville, Ky./First Solar-Chipotle Development Team)
Matthew Lipscomb (Decatur, Ga./Hincapie Development Team)

’s Road
(Irvine, Calif./)
Coryn Rivera (Tustin, Calif./Exergy TWENTY 12)
Shelley Olds (Gilroy, Calif./AA Drink)
Beth Newell (Oakland, Calif./Now Cycling – NOW and Novartis for MS)

About Ron 3385 Articles
Ron Callahan is the chief cook and bottlewasher at Bike World News, doing everything from website design to bike reviews.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.