USA Cycling announces team to contest 2012 Track World Championships

USA Cycling on Monday announced the 11 riders that will contest the 2012 UCI Track World Championships at Hisense Arena in Melbourne, Australia from April 4-8.

After earning a silver in the women’s team pursuit at the 2011 UCI Track World Championships, the trio of Dotsie Bausch (Irvine, Calif./OUCH Pro Cycling), Sarah Hammer (Temecula, Calif./OUCH Pro Cycling) and Jennie Reed (Seattle, Wash./OUCH Pro Cycling) will be joined by world-record holder Lauren Tamayo (Asheville, N.C./Exergy Twenty12) in that event. After placing third in the scratch race at the Pan American Continental Championships in Mar del Plata, Argentina, Jennifer Valente (San Diego, Calif./Exergy Twenty12) earned automatic qualification to contest the race in Melbourne. Hammer also earned an automatic qualification for the omnium. On the men’s side, Bobby Lea (Topton, Pa./Pure Energy Cycling-ProAirHFA), who earned his position by placing third in the omnium in Argentina, will contest the same event in Melbourne.

Joining them, will be Cari Higgins (Boulder, Colo./Exergy Twenty12), who will contest the points race. Contesting the points race will be Matthew Lipscomb (Decatur, Ga./Hincapie Development Team) while a combination of the trio of Michael Blatchford(Cypress, Calif./Project London 2012), Kevin Mansker (Long Beach, Calif./Project London 2012) and Jimmy Watkins(Bakersfield, Calif./Project London 2012) will compete in the team sprint and the sprint races.

*Dotsie Bausch (Irvine, Calif./OUCH Pro Cycling) — Team Pursuit
*Sarah Hammer (Temecula, Calif./OUCH Pro Cycling) — Omnium, Team Pursuit
Cari Higgins (Boulder, Colo./Exergy Twenty12) — Points Race
*Jennie Reed (Seattle, Wash./OUCH Pro Cycling) — Team Pursuit
Lauren Tamayo (Asheville, N.C./Exergy Twenty12) — Team Pursuit
*Jennifer Valente (San Diego, Calif./Exergy Twenty12) — Scratch Race

Michael Blatchford (Cypress, Calif./Project London 2012) — Sprint, Team Sprint
*Bobby Lea (Topton, Pa./Pure Energy Cycling-ProAirHFA) — Omnium
Matthew Lipscomb (Decatur, Ga./Hincapie Development Team) — Points Race
Kevin Mansker (Long Beach, Calif./Project London 2012) — Sprint, Team Sprint
Jimmy Watkins (Bakersfield, Calif./Project London 2012) — Sprint, Team Sprint

* — Automatic qualifier

One thought on “USA Cycling announces team to contest 2012 Track World Championships”

Add to the conversation! Leave your comment here.