Competitive Cyclist Racing Team Leads NRC Standings Midway Through Season

Five months into its successful 2012 racing season, the Competitive Cyclist Racing Team has seen its share of hardships and triumphs. Despite a few missed opportunities, Team riders wore yellow at multiple races and climbed onto the podium at four events this season – including first place at the Tour of the Battenkill, overall general classification (GC) victory at the Joe Martin Stage Race, second place at the SRAM Tour of the Gila, and third place at the Redlands Bicycle Classic. The Team now prepares for what will arguably be the toughest two months of racing with the Cascade Cycling Classic and Larry H. Miller Tour of Utah.

As a result of their perseverance, the Team currently sits in first place in the men’s National Racing Calendar (NRC)standings with 1,250 points. Spanish captain Francisco “Paco” Mancebo (ESP) leads the men’s individual standings with 681 points and Chad Beyer (USA) is in third place with 195 points.

Next on the Team’s racing schedule is the 33rd annual Bend Memorial Clinic Cascade Cycling Classic. The NRC 2.2 six-day stage race (July 17-22) in Bend, Ore. is the longest running stage race in North America. Mancebo will be looking to defend his overall GC win from last year.

“We’re heading into Bend looking to defend our title from last year. If we can ride strong and win stages, we have a good chance” said directeur sportif Gord Fraser. “Although our focus right now is on the Cascade Cycling Classic, we’re ramping our fitness for the Tour of Utah in August – a race we’ve had our eye on the whole year.”

The Cascade Cycling Classic begins with a prologue, followed by a road race, individual time trial, another road race that starts and finishes at the Mt. Bachelor Ski Resort, a downtown twilight criterium, and, on day six, a circuit race that caps the event.

Representing Competitive Cyclist in Bend will be: Mancebo (ESP), Beyer (USA), Thomas Rabou (NED), Taylor Shelden (USA), Tommy Nankervis (AUS), David Williams (USA), Max Jenkins (USA), and Mike Olheiser (USA).

For more information about the Team, please visit:

Add to the conversation! Leave your comment here.