Tyler Farrar withdraws from world championships

announced Saturday that Tyler Farrar (Wenatchee, Wash./Garmin-Sharp-Barracuda) is unable to compete in the 2012 UCI Road World Championships due to a concussion he suffered during the Tour of Britain.

“It’s disappointing to not have Tyler in the team this year,” Vice President of Athletics Jim Miller said. “But I fully understand the seriousness of his concussion and support the decision to take the necessary time required to fully recover. We wish him a speedy recovery and are looking forward to his returning to full health soon.”

The 28-year-old Farrar will be replaced on the American team contesting the road race by Andrew Talansky (Napa, Calif./Garmin-Sharp-Barracuda).

Talansky was the top American rider at this year’s , finishing seventh overall after registering five top-10 stage finishes. Talansky, 23, also won the U23 time trial national championship in 2010 in Bend, Ore.

“While it is a privilege to represent the in the Worlds Road Race, I wish it were under different circumstances because you never want to see someone unable to compete due to an injury,” Talansky said. “My Garmin-Sharp-Barracuda teammate, Tyler, is continuing to recover from his crash. I will do my best race in honor of his spot. We have a strong team and I know that myself and my Team USA teammates will race hard thinking of him, wishing him continued recovery.”

Talansky joins the other riders on America’s elite men’s team: Brent Bookwalter (Athens, Ga./), Matthew Busche(Wauwatosa, Wisc./RadioShack-Nissan-Trek), Timmy Duggan (Nederland, Colo./), Lucas Euser (, Colo./Spidertech p/b C10),  (San Diego, Calif./RadioShack-Nissan-Trek)Alex Howes (Golden, Colo./Garmin-Sharp-Barracuda),  (, Colo./) and  (, Colo./). Phinney and van Garderen are slated to contest the individual time trial.

Elite Men
Brent Bookwalter (Athens, Ga./)
Matthew Busche (Wauwatosa, Wisc./RadioShack-Nissan-Trek)
Timmy Duggan (Nederland, Colo./)
Lucas Euser (, Colo./Spidertech p/b C10)
 (San Diego, Calif./RadioShack-Nissan-Trek)
Alex Howes (Golden, Colo./Garmin-Sharp-Barracuda)
 (, Colo./) — also competing in TT
Andrew Talansky (Napa, Calif./Garmin-Sharp-Barracuda)
 (, Colo./) — also competing in TT

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>