Collegiate Track Nationals Kick off with 4 National Titles Awarded

The 2012/2013 season got underway today with the USA Cycling Collegiate Track National Championships in suburban Dallas.

On the first of the three days, time trials and individual pursuits were contested. By Saturday night, seven events will have been decided and fans will get to find out if Marian University and the US Military Academy were able to defend their team omniums from 2011.


The first national title of the day was awarded to Madalyn Godby (Louisville, Colo./University of Colorado at Colorado Springs). In the women’s 500-meter time trial, the Colorado rider posted a time of 36.430 to beat out silver and bronze medalists Mandy Marquardt (Breinigsillve, Pa./Penn State – ) and Stephanie Torres (East Elmhurst, NY/Marian University).

Next up was the men’s 4-kilometer pursuit. After taking silver in the event last year, Marian senior Weston Luzadder (Carmel, Ind./Marian University) bested Charles Cassin (Denver, Colo./University of Colorado – Boulder) for the 2012 national title. Griffin Easter (Durango, Colo./Fort Lewis College) won the bronze medal pursuit against fourth-place finisher David Novak (Tunkhannock, Pa./Lindsey Wilson College).


Scoring another win for defending champ Marian, Jacqueline Kurth (Palm City, FL/Marian University) completed the women’s 3-kilometer individual pursuit with a time of 03:57.4 to best MSU’s Jessica Prinner (South Elgin, IL/Midwestern State University) who completed the event in 03:59.1 for the silver medal. Kurth’s teammate, (Racine, WI/Marian University), won the bronze medal match with a time of 03:59.8

Winning the final national title of the night was Matthew Baranoski (Perkasie, PA/Penn State-) after clocking a 01:03.1 in the men’s kilometer time trial. He beat out second- and third-place finishers Danny Robertson (Rolling Meadows, IL/Midwestern State University) and Colton Barrett (North Saint Paul, MN/Marian University) 01:07.5.

2012 Collegiate Track s
Superdrome – Frisco, Texas
September 20-23, 2012

Men’s 4-kilometer Individual Pursuit
1. Weston Luzadder (Carmel, IN/Marian University) 04:49.5
2. Charles (Mac) Cassin (Denver, CO/University of Colorado-Boulder) 04:49.7
3. Griffin Easter (Durango, CO/Fort Lewis College) 04:49.7
4. David Novak (Tunkhannock, PA/Lindsey Wilson College) 04:53.2
5. Zack Allison (Fort Collins , CO/Colorado State University) 04:53.9

Women’s 3-kilometer Individual Pursuit
1. Jacqueline Kurth (Palm City, FL/Marian University) 03:57.4
2. Jessica Prinner (South Elgin, IL/Midwestern State University) 03:59.1
3. (Racine, WI/Marian University) 03:59.8
4. Christina Birch (Somerville, MA/Massachusetts Institute of Technology) 04:03.5
5. Christa Ghent (Boulder, CO/University of Colorado-Boulder) 04:04.5

Women’s 500-meter Time Trial
1. Madalyn Godby (Louisville, CO/University of Colorado-Colorado Springs) 36.43
2. Mandy Marquardt (Breinigsville, PA/Penn State-) 38.126
3. Stephanie Torres (East Elmhurst, NY/Marian University) 38.268
4. Colleen Hayduk (Kutztown, PA/Kutztown University of Pennsylvania) 38.524
5. (Racine, WI/Marian University) 39.18

Men’s Kilometer Time Trial
1. Matthew Baranoski (Perkasie, PA/Penn State-) 01:03.1
2. Danny Robertson (Rolling Meadows, IL/Midwestern State University) 01:05.4
3. Colton Barrett (North Saint Paul, MN/Marian University) 01:07.5
4. Alexander Gil (Hialeah, FL/Florida International University) 01:07.7
5. Adam Leibovitz (Indianapolis, IN/Marian University) 01:08.3

Add to the conversation! Leave your comment here.