Katie Compton, Logan Owen take silver in Zolder ‘cross

The United States earned two podium spots on Wednesday at the UCI Cyclo-cross World Cup in Heusden-Zolder, Belgium, when Katie Compton (Colorado Springs, Colo./) and Logan Owen (Bermerton, Wash./Team Redline) each finished second in their respective race.

It was Compton’s third podium finish in the month of December, following world cup wins in Roubaix and Namur. The American national champion battled back from several crashes to finish just more than a minute behind world champion Marianne Vos (NED/Rabobank Women Team). Crossing the line in 19th,Kaitlin Antonneau (Racine, Wis./Cannodale p/b world.com) was the next highest-placed American in Heusden-Zolder.

Compton still leads the UCI World Cup women’s standings with 340 points, points ahead of second-ranked Nikki Harris of Great Britain.

Junior Men’s Race

A similar framework played out in the junior men’s race, with Owen finishing second to world champion Mathieu van der Poel of . The podium finish comes on the heels of Owen’s win at the non-world cup Soudal Classic Citadelle de Namur just three days prior. He is now ranked second in the UCI World Cup junior men’s standings behind van der Poel.

 (Bainbridge Island, Wash./Team ) earned a top-20 finish in the U23 men’s race, placing 16th. He finished a minute and 13 seconds behind race winner Wietse Bosmans of Belgium. In the elite men’s race,  (Northfield, N.H./(Planet Bike) led the American effort, placing 23rd. Sven Nys (BEL/Landbouwkrediet-Euphony) won the race.

World cup racing resumes on January 6 in Rome, Italy, before concluding on January 20 in Hoogerheide, Netherlands.

UCI Cyclo-cross World Cup
Heusden-Zolder, Belgium
December 26, 2012


1. Marianne Vos (NED/Rabobank Women Team) 0:39:36
2. Katie Compton (Colorado Springs, Colo./) +01:10
3. Sanne Cant (BEL/Veldritacademie Enertherm – BKCP) +01:15

19. Kaitlin Antonneau (Racine, Wis./Cannodale p/b world.com) +03:49
25. Nicole Duke (Boulder, Colo./) +05:21
26. Crystal Anthony (Beverly, Mass./world.com) +05:24
27. Maureen Bruno Roy (Arlington, Mass./Bob’s Red Mill p/b Seven) +05:44
29. Meredith Miller (Boulder, Colo./California Giant/Specialized) +06:06
33. Amy Dombroski (Boulder, Colo./Young Telenet-Fidea Team) +06:37
36. Andrea Smith (Phoenix, Ariz./Ladies First Racing) +06:55
46. Christine Vardaros (Wyckoff, N.J./ BABOCO Team) -1 lap

Junior Men
1. Mathieu van der Poel (Netherlands) 0:43:27
2. Logan Owen (Bermerton, Wash./Team Redline) +01:58
3. Martijn Budding (Netherlands) +02:01

24. Curtis White (Delanson, N.Y./Hot Tubes Development Team) +03:50
29. Maxx Chance (Boulder, Colo./Clif Bar Development Cross Team) +05:29
31. Nathaniel Morse (Cohasset, Mass./Hot Tubes Development Team, Inc.) +05:50
36. Spencer Downing (Boulder, Colo./Clif Bar Development Cross Team) -1 lap
38. Stephen Bassett (Knoxville, Tenn./ Kentucky Flyers Inc/ Texas Roadhouse Team P/B Motorex) -1 lap

Elite Men
1. Sven Nys (BEL/Landbouwkrediet-Euphony) 1:05:15
2. Niels Albert (BEL/BKCP-Powerplus) +00:16
3. (CZE/Omega Pharma-Quickstep) +00:33

23.  (Northfield, N.H./(Planet Bike) +03:11
28. Tim Johnson (Topsfield, Mass./ Cannodale p/b world.com) +03:52
36. Justin Lindine (New Salem, Mass./Redline) +06:25
37. Jeremy Powers (Easthampton, Mass./Team ) +06:32
40. Jeremy Durrin (Amherst, Mass./ Tenet Racing/JAM Fund/NCC/Vittoria) -2 laps

U23 Men
1. Wietse Bosmans (Belgium) 0:50:54
2. Corne van Kessel (Netherlands) +00:11
3. Wout van Aert (Belgium) +00:15

16.  (Bainbridge Island, Wash./Team ) +01:13
37. Andrew Dillman (Fairdale, Ky./Bob’s Red Mill Team) +04:21
41. Josh Johnson (Fort Wayne, Ind./Indianapolis Club) +05:28
42. Skyler Trujillo (Fort Collins, Colo.) +06:34
45. Tobin Ortenblad (Santa Cruz, Calif./ California Giant Berry Farms/Specialized) -1 lap
47. Manny Goguen (Hopedale, Mass./ C.F. Racing p/b Trek Portsmouth) -2 laps

About Ron 3376 Articles
Ron Callahan is the chief cook and bottlewasher at Bike World News, doing everything from website design to bike reviews.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.