Alise Post snags third straight BMX title

Make it three straight elite supercross national titles for Olympian Alise Post (Saint Cloud, Minn./) after she dominated the women’s competition on Saturday at the 2013 USA Cycling Elite BMX National Championships in . Fellow 2012 Olympian Nic Long(Lakeside, Calif./Haro Bikes) captured his second national championship and first since 2010 in the men’s elite field.

After winning all three motos as well as the semifinals, Post held off a hard-charging Arielle Martin(Spanaway, Wash./Intense BMX) in the final to claim victory.

“Today was a lot of fun,” said Post. “It was good racing, all the girls were on point. For me it just felt really great to win three in a row. It’s a great accomplishment. On top of that, I made my momma proud. She’s been watching from home and wasn’t able to make it, being in the hospital. I’m happy to have won for her.”

Long used a quick burst out of the gate to gain an edge on Olympic teammate and defending national champion Connor Fields (Henderson, Nev./Chase BMX) who had the inside position, and never relinquished the lead to be the first over the finish line. Fields was coming off last weekend’s double victories at the UCI BMX Supercross World Cup in Argentina, making Long’s victory all the more impressive.

“It was a super long pause on the random gate and I was sitting there thinking about it and followed through and had a good start,” Long commented. “I don’t know if Connor messed up or he just was late, but I beat him down the first straight and moved over a little bit so he couldn’t come up alongside of me and just held on for the rest of the lap.”

In the juniors elite races, last year’s bronze medalist, Maliek Byndloss (Cape Coral, Fla./Factory Ssquared), captured the men’s gold medal with a stellar day of racing, while Shaelen Reno (Plano, Texas/Hyper Bicycles) won the women’s juniors title.

2013 USA Cycling Elite BMX National Championships
, Calif.
Saturday, May 18, 2013

Elite Men:
1. Nic Long (Lakeside, Calif./Haro Bikes)
2.  (Henderson, Nev./Chase BMX)
3. Jared Garcia (Victorville, Calif./Speedline-Supercross)
4. Barry Nobles (Wetumpka, Ala./DK Bicycles)
5.  (Tuscon, Ariz./Haro Bicycles)
6. A.J. Hiatt (Fresno, Calif./
7. Nick Koehler (Tustin, Calif./Speedline-Supercross)

Elite Women:
1.  (Saint Cloud, Minn./)
2. Arielle Martin (Spanaway, Wash./Intense BMX)
3. Dani George (Palmdale, Calif./Factory )
4.  (Visalia, Calif./Haro Bicycles)
5. Shelby Stacy (Bakersfield, Calif./Answer-Profile-Ssquared)

Juniors Elite Men:
1. Maliek Byndloss (Cape Coral, Fla./Factory Ssquared)
2. Aldon Volle (Penryn, Calif./Dan’s Comp)
3. Hunter Pelham (Conroe, Texas/Haro-Promax)
4. Shane Harlow (Moreno Valley, Calif./Fullerton Bikes)
5. Layne Gainer (Wauconda, Ill./FBN-Supercross)
6. Sean Gaian (Santee, Calif./Factory GT)
7. Tyler Whitfield (Rockford, Ill./Factory Ssquared-Answer)
8. Cole Tesar (Huntersville, N.C./Factory Felt-SC ActionSP)

Juniors Elite Women:
1. Shealen Reno (Plano, Texas/Hyper Bicycles)
2. Shay Glynn (Norco, Calif./Profile-Monster)

About Ron 3382 Articles
Ron Callahan is the chief cook and bottlewasher at Bike World News, doing everything from website design to bike reviews.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.