Alberto Contador to lead Team Saxo-Tinkoff at Tour de France

The Sports management and team owner Bjarne Riis have named the nine riders who will represent Team Saxo-Tinkoff in this year’s Tour de France.

The line up is:

– Michael Rogers, Australia
– Roman Kreuziger, Czech Republic
– Nicolas Roche, Ireland
– Matteo Tosatto, Italy
– Daniele Bennati, Italy
– Sergio Paulinho, Portugal
– Alberto Contador, Spain
– Jesus Hernandez, Spain
– Benjamin Noval, Spain

Frenchman Philippe Mauduit, who will be leading Team Saxo-Tinkoff’s DS Group at the Tour de France, is confident that the lineup is perfectly fitted to the team’s overall objective of winning the race.

“We enter this year’s Tour de France with the objective to win the race with Alberto. So obviously we’ve tried to pick the riders that fits the best to our overall goal, and we’ve tried to identify and bring together the competencies needed in the team to give Alberto the best possible support and protection over the three weeks on both flat roads and hectic finals, the hilly terrain, the mountains and the TTT,” he says.

“We believe, we have come up with a really strong lineup, a great all round team with a lot of valuable Grand Tour experience. So we feel certain Team Saxo-Tinkoff will make a significant impact on the race, and we look very much forward to three exiting weeks in France,” Mauduit continues.

Team owner Bjarne Riis emphasizes the versatility of the lineup as a key to become successful in the French Grand Tour.

“I think we have found a great mix of in form riders. We have a group of strong climbers in the team, we have riders designated to take care of Alberto on the flat roads and in the wind, and I’m sure we will perform well in the TTT as well. At the same time this team will allow us to ride aggressively or take a more controlling approach in all terrains depending on our needs. At the end of the day this versatility will be a key components in trying to win the race,” he says and points out that the competition to make the team has been fierce.

“This year, the race to be part of our Tour de France lineup has been tougher than in many years with more than the nine riders selected deserving a spot, and in our reserves group consisting of Nicki Sørensen, Chris Anker Sørensen and Michael Mørkøv, we have three highly competent and strong riders ready to step up if needed. Recently Matti Breschel has also shown great form. On a personal level it has been a tough decision for me to not have a Danish rider in the lineup. But we have committed ourselves to go with the group, we believe has the best composition to achieve our overall goal,” Bjarne Riis says.

This year’s Tour de France starts on Saturday 29th of June in Corsica.

Ron Callahan is the chief cook and bottlewasher at Bike World News, doing everything from website design to bike reviews.
About Ron 3385 Articles
Ron Callahan is the chief cook and bottlewasher at Bike World News, doing everything from website design to bike reviews.
%d bloggers like this: