Owen, Antonneau, Costa & Leece earn road race titles at 2013 Amateur Road Nationals

The 2013 USA Cycling Amateur & Para-cycling Road National Championships returned to the road race courses at Blue Mound State Park, east of Madison, Wis., on Friday, where four Stars-and-Stripes jerseys were awarded.

The 17-18 men’s road race began the day. More than 90 riders battled it out, with Logan Owen (Bremerton, Wash./California Giant ), who already owns eight cyclo-cross national titles, finally claiming victory at road nationals. Owen found himself pitted against Stephen Bassett (Knoxville, Tenn./ Kentucky Flyers Inc./Texas Roadhouse Team p/b Motorex) on the final climb, eventually edging Bassett by just two seconds. Curtis White (Delanson, N.Y.) crossed the line in third.

Another multi-time cyclo-cross national champion claimed the Stars-and-Stripes jersey in the women’s U23 race. Kaitlin Antonneau (Racine, Wis./Exergy TWENTY16) topped runner-up Alexis Ryan (Ventura, Calif./NOW and Novartis for MS) and Katherine Shields (Salisbury, N.C./ Carolina Masters/PainPathways Team) to add to the U23 time trial title she won yesterday.

Adrien Costa (Los Altos, Calif./Slipstream-Craddock ) also took home a second title in two days when he soloed away from his teammate Christopher Blevins (Durango, Colo./Slipstream-Craddock ) in the final kilometer to win the 15-16 junior men’s road race. Third-place finisher Gage Hecht (Parker, Colo./Team Juniors) was the only rider not on the Slipstream-Craddock team to place in the top five.

In the final race of the day, Stephen Leece (San Luis Obispo, Calif./ /) outlasted nearly 200 competitors to don his first Stars-and-Stripes jersey. Leece emerged from a 10-rider lead group to cross the line two seconds ahead of runner-up Cameron Cogburn (Cambridge, Mass./CCB ) and 12 seconds ahead of Joseph Schmalz (Lawrence, Kan./Elbowz p/b Boneshaker Project).

U.S. Paralympics Announces 2013 Road Worlds Team

Also on Friday U.S. Paralympics named its roster for the 2013 UCI Para- Road hips in Baie-Comeau, Canada, from Aug. 29 to Sept. 2. The team features 26 athletes, including several who earned national titles at yesterday’s Amateur & Para-cycling Road Nationals time trials.

“The level of competition among our athletes continues to rise, and I was impressed by the s of all 98 Para-s who participated in the National Time Trial Championships yesterday,” said Ian Lawless, high director, U.S. Paralympics. “Our partnership with continues to showcase the abilities of our athletes on the national stage, and has helped us select a very strong Team roster for the hips.”

For a complete list of riders set to compete in Canada for U.S. Paralympics, visit www.teamusa.org.

For more information on the event, including course maps, a schedule of each day’s races, results and photos, visit the 2013 USA Cycling Amateur & Para-cycling Road National Championships event page. Look for updates from Madison on the  Facebook and Twitter channels, or follow on Twitter with the hashtag #RoadNats.

2013 USA Cycling Amateur & Para-cycling Road National Championships
Madison, Wisconsin
July 5, 2013


Juniors Men 17-18 – 87km
1. Logan Owen (Bremerton, Wash./California Giant ) 2:21:22
2. Stephen Bassett (Knoxville, Tenn./ Kentucky Flyers Inc./Texas Roadhouse Team p/b Motorex) +0:02
3. Curtis White (Delanson, N.Y.) +0:21

U23 Women – 87km
1. Kaitlin Antonneau (Racine, Wis./Exergy TWENTY16) 2:51:37
2. Alexis Ryan (Ventura, Calif./NOW and Novartis for MS) +0:07
3. Katherine Shields (Salisbury, N.C./ Carolina Masters/PainPathways Team) +0:09

Juniors Men 15-16 – 66.5km
1. Adrien Costa (Los Altos, Calif./Slipstream-Craddock ) 1:53:28
2. Christopher Blevins (Durango, Colo./Slipstream-Craddock ) +1:02
3. Gage Hecht (Parker, Colo./Team Juniors) +1:10
4. Michael Hernandez (Clermont, Fla./Slipstream-Craddock ) +1:13
5. Evan East (Little Rock, Ark./Slipstream-Craddock ) +1:22

Open Men – 129km
1. Stephen Leece (San Luis Obispo, Calif./ /) 3:24:51
2. Cameron Cogburn (Cambridge, Mass./CCB ) +0:02
3. Joseph Schmalz (Lawrence, Kan./Elbowz p/b Boneshaker Project) +0:12
4. Colby Ricker (Boulder, Colo./Sonic Boom Team) +0:21
5. Kennett Peterson (Boulder, Colo./Team Rio Grande) +0:24

About Ron 3385 Articles
Ron Callahan is the chief cook and bottlewasher at Bike World News, doing everything from website design to bike reviews.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.