Team Novo Nordisk begins 2014 season at Tour de San Luis

Team Novo Nordisk, the world’s first all-diabetes professional cycling team, begins its second season on January, 20, 2014 at the Tour de San Luis. In its inaugural season, Team Novo Nordisk achieved 22 top-ten finishes, including three third-place podium finishes, one at Tour de Beauce and two at Tour of China.

– The Team Novo Nordisk roster for Tour de San Luis includes, Andrea Peron (ITA), who achieved 13 top ten finishes including podium finishes at the Tour de Beauce and Tour of China in the 2013 season; David Lozano (ESP), a former 11-time Spanish national champion in mountain-bike and cyclocross; Kevin de Mesmaeker (BEL), Chris Williams (AUS), and team veterans Javier Megias (ESP) and Martijn Verschoor (DEN).

“We are looking forward to beginning our 2014 season at the Tour de San Luis. We hope that Team Novo Nordisk’s participation in the race will inspire people and show the world what may be possible when you have diabetes.” – Phil Southerland, co-founder and CEO, Team Novo Nordisk.

“We are very excited to be competing against some of the best cyclists in the world at the Tour de San Luis. This is a very high profile race and the world will be watching us. Following a successful first season as Team Novo Nordisk, we are hoping to achieve even greater race results this year and inspire more people affected by diabetes.” – Vassili Davidenko, Corporate Vice President of Athletic Operations and General Manager, Team Novo Nordisk.

– The men’s professional cycling team includes all-diabetes professional riders from 10 different countries and is at the forefront of Team Novo Nordisk, a global all-diabetes sports team of cyclists, triathletes and runners. The team’s mission is to inspire, educate and empower people affected by diabetes.

– Since its launch in December 2012, Team Novo Nordisk has competed in more than 55 races, spanning more than 9,500 km across 15 countries, meeting and inspiring thousands of people affected by diabetes across the world.

– The full Team Novo Nordisk professional men’s team roster for 2014 includes: Aaron Perry (NZL), Andrea Peron (ITA), Ben Dilley (USA), Charles Planet (FRA), Chris Williams (AUS), David Lozano (ESP), Javier Megias (ESP), Joe Eldridge (USA), Joonas Henttala (FIN), Justin Morris (AUS), Kevin de Mesmaeker (BEL), Martijn Verschoor (DEN), Nicolas Lefrancois (FRA), Paolo Cravanzola (ITA), Ruud Cremers (NED), Stephen Clancy (IRE), and Thomas Raeymaekers (BEL).

Ron Callahan is the chief cook and bottlewasher at Bike World News, doing everything from website design to bike reviews.
About Ron 3385 Articles
Ron Callahan is the chief cook and bottlewasher at Bike World News, doing everything from website design to bike reviews.
%d bloggers like this: