Alberto Contador to lead Tinkoff – Saxo for Volta a Catalunya

Monday, the 24th of March, the 94th edition of is launched with the first of 7 stages in total and as usual, the peloton is challenged with a delicious course for the climbers. No less than 23 categorized climbs are on the program and will be on the spot with a full set of hungry climbers: , , Chris Anker Sørensen, , , , Jesus Hernandez and Pawel Poljanski.

Throughout the years, the race has been dominated by memorable Spanish legends like Luis Ocana, Miguel Indurain, Fernando Escartin, Joseba Beloki and but other big names such as Eddy Merckx, Jacques Anquetil, Felice Gimondi and Sean Kelly have won the race. And there’s no doubt that this year’s winner will be a strong climber. There are no time trials in the race and the mountainous terrain during stage three and four will make sure, the heavier riders will be out of the GC.

Even though ’s is in great shape, DS, Philippe Mauduit doesn’t necessarily expect another superb overall win:

“As you know it’s never easy to win such race. The race level will be at the highest and the profile of the race pretty hard. In the past few years the first two stages were offering a surprising scenario so we have to be ready and never forget that everything can happen. After those first two stages, we enter mountain terrain where I expect a big fight between the GC riders. We will have to do our best to support Alberto and we have the team to do so. Of course after Tirreno everybody expects Alberto doing another spectacular show but we have to bear in mind that he did some thing incredibly outstanding in Tirreno and it’s really difficult to produce such performance at that level of competition. So we will take it day by day and the team will do their best to give him the support he deserves,” says Mauduit.

About Ron 3091 Articles
Ron Callahan is the chief cook and bottlewasher at Bike World News, doing everything from website design to bike reviews.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.