Registration of UCI ProTeams for the 2013 season

As of 2nd November, the UCI had registered in the first division the teams already holding a current UCI WorldTour licence and whose applications satisfied the registration conditions set out in the UCI regulations.

The following teams were concerned:

– Astana Pro Team
– BMC Racing Team
– Cannondale
– Lampre – Merida
– Omega Pharma – Quick Step Cycling Team
– Sky Procycling
– Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team
– Movistar Team (UCI decision of 16 November)

In accordance with the UCI regulations, the Licences Commission was requested by the UCI administration to adjudicate on the refusal to register as well as the issuing of the UCI WorldTour licence to applying teams.

As a result of the hearings held on 19, 21, 22, 28 November and 7 December, the Licences Commission has issued a UCI WorldTour licence to the following teams:

– AG2R La Mondiale                 2013-2016
– Euskaltel Euskadi                  2013-2016
– Former Rabobank                  2013-2014
– Garmin Sharp                        2013-2014
– Team Argos–Shimano            2013-2016
– Team Saxo – Tinkoff              2013-2014

Finally, the Licences Commission has granted registration for the 2013 season to the following teams:

– Lotto Belisol
– RadioShackNissan

The request from the team Katusha for registration in first division has been rejected.
In accordance with UCI regulations, this team’s application has been forwarded to the UCI administration, so that the latter may assess the possibility of registering this team as a UCI Professional Continental Team.

The full list of UCI Professional Continental Teams registered for 2013 will be announced at a later date.

%d bloggers like this: