2013 Tour Down Under: Stage 4 Results

The fourth stage in the Tour Down Under was again cut out for the sprinters. 126 relatively flat kilometers brought the peloton from Modbury to Tanunda. Philippe Gilbert and Damien Howson were keen and set up a breakaway already after five kilometers. Together they rode in front for 110 km, with a gap that was about one to two minutes. The peloton kept everything under control and at five kilometers from the finish the sprinters teams could prepare themselves for the sprint. Lotto Belisol made again a strong impression and André Greipel could beat his opponents with more than a bike length.

Greg Henderson: “What we do isn’t easy, but it is a job of regularity, training and 100 percent focus on our job. Everyone knows exactly what to do. You can’t really call it fun, we are risking our lives, but when you win it is of course fun then. Also today the final was hectic. There was wind from the left, so we had to stay at the right as much as possible, but all puzzle pieces fell into place again.”

“For myself the start of the Tour Down Under was only the first time to see my teammates. I was really looking forward to it; it was a very warm welcome. Everybody came to pick me up at the airport and we went to eat something on the beach, that was really magnificent. Tomorrow there is a tough stage with the Old Willunga Hill, but we will do everything we can to help Adam Hansen, who is standing on a good place in the GC. And Sunday we will go for a third victory. If this is an ideal preparation for the classics? Is Tom Boonen at the start here (laughs)? No, I think it’s an ideal race; the weather is good, the stages aren’t too long and we can battle for stage wins.”

Stage 4 Brief Results:

  1. Andre Greipel (Germany / Lotto) 3:02:52″
  2. Roberto Ferrari (Italy / Lampre) ST
  3. Jonathan Cantwell (Australia / Saxo – Tinkoff)
  4. Andrew Fenn (Britain / Omega Pharma – Quick-Step)
  5. Barry Markus (Netherlands / Vacansoleil)
  6. Marcel Kittel (Germany / Argos)
  7. Mark Renshaw (Australia / Blanco)
  8. Kenny van Hummel (Netherlands / Vacansoleil)
  9. Arnaud Demare (France / FDJ)
  10. Klaas Lodewyck (Belgium / BMC Racing)

General Classification After Stage 4:

  1. Geraint Thomas (Britain / Team Sky) 12:59:09″
  2. Tom-Jelte Slagter (Netherlands / Blanco) +5″
  3. Javier Moreno (Spain / Movistar) +6″
  4. Ben Hermans (Belgium / RadioShack) +8″
  5. Gorka Izagirre (Spain / Euskaltel) +15″
  6. Jon Izagirre (Spain / Euskaltel)
  7. Jack Bauer (New Zealand / Garmin)
  8. Tiago Machado (Portugal / RadioShack)
  9. Adam Hansen (Australia / Lotto)
  10. George Bennett (New Zealand / RadioShack)
  11. Daniele Pietropolli (Italy / Lampre)
  12. Jussi Veikkanen (Finland / FDJ)
  13. Wilco Kelderman (Netherlands / Blanco)
  14. Kenny Elissonde (France / FDJ) +23″
  15. Jose Joaquin Rojas (Spain / Movistar) +31″
  16. Mickael Cherel (France / AG2R) +32″
  17. Rafael Valls (Spain / Vacansoleil)
  18. Andrey Kashechkin (Kazakhstan / Astana)
  19. Serge Pauwels (Belgium / Omega Pharma – Quick-Step)
  20. Chris Sorensen (Denmark / Saxo – Tinkoff)
%d bloggers like this: